Five Things that Will Make Your She-Shed Remarkable

A She-Shed is the newest way to keep up with your husband. The “Man-Cave” is what it is, but a She-Shed is so much better because it includes these components:

  • a place to do crafting
  • a place to sew
  • a place to write
  • a place to get away from the “Madding Crowd”
  • comfort
  • beauty
  • seclusion
  • workspace
  • work tools

Well, you hear what I’m saying. If you want a space to enhance your DIY-ing, here’s a list of She-Shed necessities:

  1. Shelving – A friend of mine is building herself a She-Shed which is absolutely beautiful. She made sure to include a wall of natural wood shelves (which also happen to be floating shelves). Shelving can be beautiful aesthetically or not, but organized materials will always enhance your shed’s appearance while also giving you more room to work.

2. Those of us with a touch of OCD will probably want to use containers on the shelves to store small objects, tools, and other materials. We would also like for those containers to match in color and style. Labels, of course, make it easier to find what you have so neatly tucked away.

3. Before crafting got so popular, moms would be happy with a small space in the attic that would allow their sewing machines and themselves room to get the job done. Now that many are making part of their living by crafting and blogging, ladies feel they should at least have a room where things are organized and well-decorated. Most women who design a creative space use neutral cabinets and shelving so that their materials and supplies can add the color to the room.

4. I have a small space that connects to my bedroom that I call my “office.” I have drawers, shelves, a desk, and a comfy desk chair. But the one thing I have added to my small office that has made me the happiest is a work table. I just found an old door and placed it on two old sawhorses. I put it right in front of a window so that I could use the natural light for photographing the items I sell on Etsy. Perfect!

Rubbermaid HomeFree series closet system | by Rubbermaid Products

5. My constant go-to containers are baskets. First, I have a thing for baskets, but also they look great for organizing because they are such pretty vessels. I do not leave a flea market or a garage sale without picking up a basket of some sort. They inevitably come in handy.

 

I hope my friend will allow me to share the finished She-Shed when she completes her project. Be watching for that reveal!

 

 

 

Author: gebbysmith

I am a retired school teacher, school administrator, designer, retail business- owner, writer, fisherman, gardener, music-lover, dance-lover, theater-lover who lives in Mississippi. My husband, four doggies, and I live on a small farm and have fun every day making things and working on our house..

One thought on “Five Things that Will Make Your She-Shed Remarkable”

Leave a comment

odonnellgcaa

Think.Read.Write.

Embracing Authenticity

Don't be ashamed of your story it will inspire others!

Little Fears

Tales of humour, whimsy and courgettes

BaileyBee

The Hive

Tech by Dla

Be Positive, Patient and Persistent...

52 Weeks Challenge

It all started as the challenge of a year...

ESTA US TRAVEL

Electronic System for Travel Authorization

Idiot Joy Showland

This is why I hate intellectuals

THE MAIN AISLE (c) 2024

Written with its readers interests in mind.

The Little Mermaid

MAKING A DIFFERENCE, ONE STEP AT A TIME

sanctuary5014

self discovery - an expedition through some life issues - and other random thoughts

Theresa Barker - Lab Notes

creative arts | poetry & fiction

The Life

Inspire & Empower

creartfuldodger

collage/mixed media artist

Ancient Beauty

Beautiful Me

Ramblings of a Writer

Living the Path of Life